Children and Young People (Death Review Committee) Chair Appointment 2022 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2022-186

made under the

Children and Young People Act 2008, Section 727E (Appointment of chair of committee)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Chapter 19A of the Children and Young People Act 2008 provides for the establishment of the Children and Young People Death Review Committee. Section 727E (1) of this Chapter requires the Minister to appoint a person as the Chair of the Children and Young People Death Review Committee. The Minister has taken all appropriate steps to comply with the Act.

This instrument appoints:

Ms Megan Mitchell

as Chair of the ACT Children and Young People Death Review Committee. The term of appointment is for a period of three years in accordance with section 727E (5).

The ACT Remuneration Determination 13 of 2021 (Part-time Public Office Holders) has granted a per diem payment of \$895 to the Chair of the ACT Children and Young People Death Review Committee.

Division 19.3.3, section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001* requires that appointments to statutory positions made by the Minister be made after consultation with a Standing Committee of the Legislative Assembly. The Minister consulted with the Standing Committee on Health and Community Wellbeing on 6 July 2022. The Standing Committee considered the appointments and advised on 26 July 2022 that in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Committee noted the information provided and offered no comment or specific recommendation regarding the proposed appointments.

This Disallowable Instrument is necessary to provide Ms Mitchell with the statutory authority to perform the functions of ACT Children and Young People Death Review Committee Chair pursuant to the provisions of the *Children and Young People Act 2008*.