Public Place Names (Taylor) Determination 2020 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2020-42

made under the

Public Place Names Act 1989, s 3 (Minister to determine names)

1 Name of instrument

This instrument is *Public Place Names (Taylor) Determination 2020 (No 2)*

2 Commencement

This instrument commences on the day after its notification day.

3 Determination of place name

I determine the place name as indicated in the schedule.

Ben Ponton Delegate of the Minister for Planning and Land Management 9 April 2020

Division of Taylor- Architecture, town planning and urban design

The location of the public place with the following name is indicated on the associated diagram.

NAME	ORIGIN	SIGNIFICANCE
GENE WILLSFORD	Gene Marsali Willsford	Architect; community service
PARK	(1921 – 2019)	The post-war architect Gene Willsford (née Turner) contributed to the early development of Canberra housing during a period of major expansion under the National Capital Development Commission (NCDC). Following her graduation from the School of Architecture at the University of Sydney in 1945 she worked in London for several years in various architectural offices on post-war reconstruction projects. Willsford returned to Australia and later took up a position in Canberra working in the NCDC's Homes Advisory Service from 1960 where she assisted home owners with extensions to their ex-government houses. Later Willsford worked on public housing developments in Woden and Belconnen and a number of Commonwealth architecture projects including the Kingston Bus Depot, the Weights and Measures building in Fyshwick and the Charnwood Fire Station. In the 1970s Willsford was instrumental in forming the Craft Association of the ACT (now Craft ACT) and designed the renovations for their building, now the Watson Arts Centre. After her retirement, Willsford was a keen wood turner, co-founding the Canberra Woodcraft Guild in 1980. In 2015 her services to Canberra architecture were recognised by the ACT Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects who inaugurated 'The Gene Willsford Award for Residential Architecture' in her honour.



DIVISION OF TAYLOR