# **AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY**

# **MENTAL HEALTH (TREATMENT AND CARE) ACT 1994**

### APPOINTMENTS TO THE MENTAL HEALTH COUNCIL

# **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

## **INSTRUMENT NO.'s**

216, 217, 218, 219, 220, 221, 222, 223, 224 and 225 of 1996

The Mental Health Council is established under Part XI of the Mental Health (Treatment and Care) Act 1994.

Section 121 of the Act deals with the appointment of persons to the Council and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

Section 122 states the function of the Council to be to advise the Minister on the prevention of mental dysfunction, the rehabilitation of person who are or have been mentally dysfunctional. the fostering of community involvement in the provision of services and facilities for mentally dysfunctional person, the provision of continuing care for mentally dysfunctional persons; and other matter relating to mental health. The Council is to also charged to keep under review, the provision of services and facilities for mentally dysfunctional persons.

Members of the Council were chosen to represent members of the community, consumers and carers.

Following consultation with the Standing Committee on Social Policy the Minister has appointed the following members:

Elizabeth Morgan Community Member (Chair)

Libby Steeper Carer (Deputy Chair)
Ara Cresswell Community Member

Kathleen McGeechan
Kay Wright
Consumer
Pat Daniels
Consumer
Gillian McDonald
Carer

Graeme Nankervis Carer Robert Linford Carer Brian I'anson Carer.

Appointments to the Mental Health Council are for a period of three years from the date of the instruments.