AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Occupational Health and Safety Act 1989

Appointment

INSTRUMENT NO. 290 OF 1997

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 9 of the *Occupational Health and Safety Act 1989* establishes the Occupational Health and Safety Council

Section 13(1) of the Act provides that the Council shall consist of

- (a) 4 members appointed by the Minister after consultation with such persons or bodies as the Minister considers represent the interests of employees,
- (b) 4 members appointed by the Minister after consultation with such persons or bodies as the Minister considers represent the interests of employers, and
 - (c) 4 other members appointed by the Minister.

Section 22(1) of the Act provides that the Minister may appoint a person to act as a member of the Council, other than the Chairperson or Deputy Chairperson

This Instrument appoints Vivienne Bryant, to represent the interests of employees, Elaine Ondaatje to represent the interests of employers, and Gordon Percival James Lee Koo as members of the Occupational Health and Safety Council for a period of 3 years from the date of Gazettal These appointments have been referred to the Standing Committee on Social Policy, as required by the *Statutory Appointments Act* 1994, and the Committee has raised no objection to the appointments

Circulated by the Authority of Trevor Thomas Kaine MLA, Minister for Industrial Relations