Liquor Licensing Board Appointment 2004

Disallowable instrument DI2004-268

made under the

Liquor Act 1975, section 12 (Membership of Board)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Under section 12 of the *Liquor Act 1975* (the Act) the Liquor Licensing Board is constituted by a chairperson appointed by the minister, the registrar of liquor licences and three other members appointed by the minister. Section 13 of the Act requires that the minister shall not appoint a person to be chairperson unless the person has been a lawyer for not less than five years. Members other than the registrar hold office on a part-time basis for such period as specified in the instrument of appointment.

The Liquor Licensing Board is a body established under Part 2 of the Act to promote and encourage responsibility in the sale and consumption of liquor by considering and determining applications or other matters referred to it; conducting inquiries, including hearings, in relation to applications or other matters referred to it; advising the minister, as required, on matters of policy and administration; and exercising the other functions given to it.

The signed Disallowable Instrument appoints Mr Allan Michael O'Neil as chairperson of the Liquor Licensing Board, following the expiry of Mr Alyn Doig's appointment on 31 December 2004. The instrument also appoints Mr Peter Conway as a member of the board. Neither of these appointees are public servants.

The Standing Committee of Legal Affairs has been consulted as required under the provisions of the *Legislation Act 2001*. The committee has advised that it had no concerns with the appointments.

The format for these appointments has been varied to facilitate ease of access to membership details (both current and historical) for the board. In future this instrument will be amended to include future appointments and changes to the membership of this board.