Dangerous Substances (Asbestos Assessment Task Force) Appointment 2004 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2004-272

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This Instrument, made under section 47C (c) of the *Dangerous Substances Act 2004* (the Act), appoints the following people as members of the Asbestos Assessment Task Force:

- David Dawes
- Tony Hedley
- Caroline Lemezina
- Pat McGinn
- Steve Mullins
- Glenn Parry
- Ken Roberts
- Carol Willey

Section 47C (c) provides for "anyone else appointed by the Minister".

The appointments commence on notification and expire on 31 August 2005.

These appointments have been approved by the Minister for Industrial Relations and, in accordance with section 228 (consultation with the appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Minister for Industrial Relations consulted the Standing Committee on Legal Affairs regarding these appointments. The Committee considered and noted the proposed appointments.

The appointees are not Public Servants and this instrument makes appointments to which the Legislation Act 2001, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001*, s.229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.