Australian Capital Territory

Explanatory Statement

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Psychologists Board Appointment 2005 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2005—14

made under the

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981, section 5 (Appointment of Members)

The Board is established under Section 5 of the *Psychologists Act 1994* and comprises the Chair and five other members, all of whom are to be appointed by the Minister in accordance with *the Health Professions Boards* (*Procedures*) *Act 1981*.

The Act provides for the registration of psychologists, to control the practice of psychology, and for related purposes. Appointments of the Chairperson and three members of the Psychologists Board expired on 27 September 2004. All registered psychologists in the ACT were invited to nominate for the four positions.

A person is not eligible for appointment as a member unless the person is a registered psychologist in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding 3 years, under the law of State or Territory, registered to practise in that State or Territory.

A community representative must not be eligible for registration as a psychologist. Ms Jennifer Chynoweth is a public servant in the Commonwealth Department of Health.

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health and Disability has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*. This instrument makes appointments to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229).

Ms Rolls is employed in private practice and Dr O'Kearney is the Director of Clinical Psychology at the Australian National University.