Australian Capital Territory

## Public Place Names (Watson) Determination 2005 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2005 - 170

made under the

Public Place Names Act 1989— section 3 (Minister to determine names)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The *Public Place Names Act 1989* provides for the naming of divisions and public places and, in particular, section 3 empowers the Minister to determine in writing, published in the ACT Legislation Register, the name of a division or public place.

Pursuant to Part 254A of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Minister has delegated the power under the *Public Place Names Act 1989* to name a division or public place to the Chief Planning Executive, ACT Planning and Land Authority.

Blocks 2 & 3 of Section 72 Watson were named Justice Robert Hope Park in DI2001-275 in 2001. These blocks have now been amalgamated with Block 6 Section 72. The name will now apply to the entire Section 72.

Accordingly, this Instrument REVOKES DI2001-275 notified on the Legislation Register on 11 September 2001;

and

DETERMINES the name of the park in the Division of Watson as specified in the attached schedule and associated plan.

The number of women and men after whom divisions or public places have been named in the last 10 years, and whether the names of women are well-represented, have been considered as required by the *Public Place Names Act 1989*.

This instrument commemorates one man.