Australian Capital Territory

Heritage (Council Chairperson) Appointment 2005 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2005-247

made under the

Heritage Act 2004, section 17 (Members of Council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This instrument is made under section 17 (2) of the Heritage Act 2004.

Part III, Section 16 of the Heritage Act establishes the ACT Heritage Council. Members of Council, including the Chair, are appointed by the Minister under section 17.

This instrument revokes the appointment of Mr Peter Freeman (Architect) as Chairperson on instrument DI2005-63.

This instrument appoints Dr Michael Pearson (Archaeology) (Member of Council) as Chairperson for a period of three years.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Planning and Environment was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.

This person is not a public servant so the appointment is by disallowable instrument.