Australian Capital Territory

Explanatory Statement

Health Professionals Podiatrists Board Appointment 2006 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2006—50

made under the

Health Professionals Act 2004, Health Professionals Regulations 2004 section 10 (Appointment of Board Members)

The Board is established under Section 10 of the *Health Professionals Regulations 2004* and comprises the President and three other members appointed by the Minister in accordance with *the Health Professionals Act 2004*, and one elected member.

The Act protects the public from risk of harm by ensuring that the people who provide health services regulated by the Act are competent to provide health services, and for other purposes.

A person is not eligible for appointment as president or as a member unless the person is a registered podiatrist in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding 3 years, under the law of State or Territory, registered to practise in that State or Territory.

A community representative must not be eligible for registration as a podiatrist.

This instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229) and applies to SANDRA MOFFAT and CLAYTON CLEWS, who are in private practice, and BAZLUN BILKIS, community representative.

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health and Disability has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*.