Australian Capital Territory

Explanatory Statement

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) – Pharmacy Board of the ACT 2002 (No. 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2002—199

made under the

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981, section 5 (Appointment of Members)

The Board is established under section 5 of the *Pharmacy Act 1931* and comprises the Chair, and 6 other members. Of these seven, three are elected by the profession in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Elections) Act 1980* and four (including the Chair) are appointed by the Minister in accordance with *the Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*.

The Act provides for the registration of pharmacists, to control the practice of pharmacy and for related purposes. All registered pharmacists were notified by circular of the forthcoming term of office and one nomination was received for chairperson and six nominations were received for Board member positions.

A person is not eligible for appointment as a member unless the person is a registered pharmacist in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding 3 years, under the law of State or Territory, to practice pharmacy in that State or Territory.

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*. This instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229).

Mrs Alexander, the only nominee for Chairperson, is the Director of Pharmacy Services at The Canberra Hospital. None of the Board member appointees are public servants.