Australian Capital Territory

## **Explanatory Statement**

## Health Professionals (Medical Board) Appointment 2006 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2006 - 190

made under the

Health Professionals Act 2004, Schedule 2 clause 2.6

The *Health Professionals Act 2004* (HP Act) aims to protect the public from risk of harm by ensuring that all health professionals are competent to provide health services.

The ACT Medical Board is constituted under Section 2.6 of Schedule 2 to the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004*. Section 2.6 requires that there be a president and five appointed members, two of whom are community representatives.

Regulation 10 (1) provides that the Minister appoints Board members in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001 div 19.3.3*. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument. Regulation 11(5) provides that the Minister must appoint the president and five appointed members. The positions of president and three medical appointments are vacant.

In accordance with the *Legislation Act* 2001 the nomination were considered by the Standing Committee on Health at it's meeting on 12 July and the recommendations noted.

Dr Stephen Bradshaw is to be appointed as president and Drs Barraclough, Somi and Viliunas are to be appointed members to the ACT Medical Board until 2 July 2010. Drs Bradshaw, Barraclough and Viliunas are not public servants.