## Victims of Crime (Victims Assistance Board) Appointment 2006 (No 1)

**Disallowable Instrument DI2006-254** 

made under the

Victims of Crime Regulation 2000, section 7(2) (Membership of board)

## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Victims of Crime Regulation 2000 governs the constitution and functions of the Victims Assistance Board of the Australian Capital Territory (the board). The board's function is detailed in Part 2, section 6. Part 2 of the Regulation provides for the establishment and membership of the board.

Consultation has occurred with the Standing Committee on Legal Affairs regarding these appointments. No response was received from the Committee within the period of 30 days allowed under the *Legislation Act 2001* section 228(3).

This instrument is a disallowable instrument and appoints Mr Matthew Varley as the AFP member, Ms Heidi Yates as the Legal Profession member, Ms Bruna Romano as the Migrant member and Ms Traci Harris as the Indigenous member of the Victims Assistance Board of the Australian Capital Territory, commencing the day after notification of this instrument for a period of two years. None of these members are public servants.