## Civil Law (Wrongs) Professional Standards Council Appointment 2007 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI 2007 - 37

## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

All States and Territories have enacted legislation enabling the establishment of a Professional Standards Council. The objects of the legislation are to constitute Professional Standards Councils, to enable the creation of schemes to limit the civil liability of professionals and others, to facilitate the improvement of occupational standards, and to protect consumers.

Section 4.36 of Schedule 4 of the *Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002* provides for the establishment of the ACT Professional Standards Council (ACT Council). The ACT Council consists of 11 people appointed by the Minister who have the experience, skills and qualifications the Minister considers appropriate to enable them to make a contribution to the work of the ACT Council.

All States and Territories have agreed to appoint the same 11 members to their Councils. The Councils will comprise one member nominated by each of the States and Territories and the Commonwealth, with the exception of NSW and Victoria who will nominate two.

The instrument of appointment is a disallowable instrument. As required by the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Standing Committee on Legal Affairs has been consulted on the appointments. The Committee has advised that it has no comment on the appointment of these members.

The instrument appoints Ms Jo Metcalfe, Mr Brian Rayment QC, and Mr Robert Beaton to the Council. The appointments end on 31 December 2008. None of the appointees are public servants.