Australian Capital Territory

Education (Government Schools Education Council) Appointment 2007 (No 3)

Disallowable Instrument DI 2007 - 168

Education Act 2004, Section 57 (1) Members of Council (government)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Education Act 2004* governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Government Schools Education Council.

Section 57 (1) of the Act deals with appointments of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

This instrument appoints Ms Mei Godfrey-Yik and Mr Benjamin Duggan as education members, chosen from nominations of the peak organisations representing students, to the Government Schools Education Council. The appointments commence on the day after notification, for one year. The appointees are not public servants and this instrument makes appointments to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly under the *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

The Standing Committee on Education, Training and Young People was consulted in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001* and had no objections.