Australian Capital Territory

Canberra Institute of Technology Advisory Council Appointment 2007 (No 6)

Disallowable Instrument DI 2007 – 254

Explanatory Statement

Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987, Section 30, Membership of the Council

The *Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987* governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Canberra Institute of Technology Advisory Council.

Section 30 (5) of the Act deals with appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

This instrument re-appoints Dr Sarah Ryan as Chairperson until 31 December 2007 to ensure continuity of the Chairperson during the current transition to new legislation, relating to the composition of Council as outlined in the *Canberra Institute of Technology Act Amendment Bill* 2007, currently scheduled to be debated in the Legislative Assembly during the sitting period, 16 to 18 October 2007.

The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a disallowable instrument for the purpose of division 19.3.3 of the Legislation Act 2001.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Education, Training and Young People was consulted and has no objections to the re-appointment.