Explanatory Statement

Radiation Protection (Council Member) Appointment 2007 (No 2)

Disallowable Instrument DI 2007-318

made under the

Radiation Protection Act 2006, s 68 (Council members) s 70 (Chair and deputy chair of council)

The Radiation Protection Act 2006 (Radiation Act) governs the establishment and composition of the Radiation Council (the Council).

The Council has the following functions: issuing licences; registering regulated radiation sources; providing advice to Minister on radiation issues; and exercising any other function allocated to it under the Radiation Act or another territory law.

Section 68 of the Radiation Act provides the Minister with the power to appoint the Council members. The Council must include a member of the public, a radiologist, an expert person who has knowledge of the physical properties and or the biological effects of radiation and another person whom the Minister believes has particular qualifications or experience that would assist the Council undertaking its functions. Each Council member is appointed for a period of not more than three years.

Section 70 of the Radiation Act provides the Minister with the power to appoint a council member as the chair of the council and another member as the deputy chair.

This instrument makes appointments under the *Legislation Act 2001*. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

The Standing Committee on Health and Disability has considered the appointments and has made no comments.

Professor Leslie Keith Fifield is appointed as a member of the Council for a three year term commencing on 1 January 2008 and ending on 31 December 2010. Additionally, Professor Fifield is appointed as the Council deputy chairperson.

Professor Fifield has been appointed to the Council because he has expert knowledge of the physical properties and biological effects of radiation. Also, he has additional qualifications and extensive experience relevant to assisting the Council carry out its functions. Professor Fifield is a part time member and is not an ACT public servant.