## **Explanatory Statement**

## Health Professionals (Psychologists Board) Appointment 2008 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2008—47

made under the

Health Professionals Regulation 2004 Section 5 (Board president) and Section 10 (Board members – election or appointment)

The Board is established under Section 4 of the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004* and comprises the President appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004*, Section 5 and six other members (two of whom are community representatives) appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004*, Section 10 and two elected members. Section 7.5 of Schedule 7 to the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004* specifies the Board membership.

The Act protects the public from risk of harm by ensuring that the people who provide health services regulated by the Act are competent to provide health services, and for other purposes.

A person is not eligible for appointment as President or as a psychologist member unless the person is a registered psychologist in the ACT. The person also needs to have been registered for a continuous period of at least three years immediately before the day of the appointment. A community representative member must be on the community representative list for the Board, in accordance with section 11 (4) of the *Health Professionals Regulation 2004*.

These appointments are made to fill vacancies created by the terms of appointment for Carolyn Rolls (President) and Vanessa Hamilton (psychologist member) expiring and by the resignation of a community representative, Jennifer Chynoweth.

This instrument makes appointments to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229) and applies to Vanessa Hamilton (psychologist) and Angela White (psychologist), and to Margaret Wolf (community representative) none of whom are public servants.

Margaret Wolf's name appears on the Psychologists Board Community Representative List. The list was notified by Notifiable Instrument NI2008-17.

The members of the Board currently serving are Tom McHugh, Geoffrey Gallas (both elected), Ross White, Vickie de Prazer and Wendy Preston (all appointed) and Ebenezer Banful (appointed community representative).

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health and Disability has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*.