## Heritage (Council Members) Appointment 2008 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2008-71

made under the

Heritage Act 2004

## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This instrument is made under Section 17 of the Heritage Act 2004.

Part 3, Section 16 of the Heritage Act establishes the ACT Heritage Council. Members of Council, including the Chair and Deputy Chair, are appointed by the Minister under section 17.

This instrument appoints 9 members.

Members are appointed for a maximum period of three years.

This instrument appoints Mrs Louise Brown (Aboriginal Community), Dr Lenore Coltheart (Community), Dr Dianne Firth (Landscape Architecture), Mr David Johnston (Aboriginal Culture), Mr John Kemister (Engineering), Dr Warren Nicholls (Nature Conservation), Dr Michael Pearson (Archaeology), Mr Colin Stewart (Architecture) and Mr Josip Zivco (Property Sector) to be members of the Council for a period of three years.

The appointees are not ACT Public Servants and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001*, s.229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

This appointment has been approved by the Minister for the Environment, Water and Climate Change, and the Standing Committee on Planning and Environment has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.