Public Place Names (Franklin) Determination 2008 (No 3)

Disallowable instrument DI2008 - 74

made under the

Public Place Names Act 1989— section 3 (Minister to determine names)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Public Place Names Act 1989* provides for the naming of divisions and public places and, in particular, section 3 empowers the Minister to determine in writing, published in the ACT Legislation Register, the name of a division or public place.

Pursuant to Section 254A of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Minister has delegated the power under the *Public Place Names Act 1989* to name a division or public place to the Chief Planning Executive, ACT Planning and Land Authority.

This Instrument determines the names of new roads in the Division of Franklin as specified in the attached schedule and associated plan. The theme for the naming of public places in Franklin is *Australian Writers*.

The number of women and men after whom divisions or public places have been named in the last 10 years, and whether the names of women are well represented, has been considered as required by the *Public Place Names Act 1989*.

This Instrument commemorates 21 women and 12 men.