Nature Conservation (Flora and Fauna Committee) Appointment 2008 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2008-120

made under the

Nature Conservation Act 1980, section 17 (Membership)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This instrument is made under Section 17 of the *Nature Conservation Act* 1980.

Section 17 of the Act provides that the Minister shall appoint members, two of whom shall not be public servants.

This instrument reappoints six members. Five non-public servants and one public servant. Dr Margaret Kitchin is a public servant.

The members must have appropriate expertise in biodiversity or ecology, and will hold office as a part-time member for a period not exceeding three years.

Existing members to the Committee are

- Professor Arthur Georges (Chairperson and member)
- Dr Penny Olsen (Deputy Chairperson and member)
- Dr Margaret Kitchin (Member)
- Dr Richard Norris (Member)
- Dr Barry Richardson (Member)
- Mr Paul Stevenson (Member)

These appointments are disallowable instruments.