Civil Law (Wrongs) Professional Standards Council Appointment 2009 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI 2009 - 29

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

All States and Territories have enacted legislation which enables the establishment of a national Professional Standards Council, which is made up of individual jurisdictional councils. The objects of the legislation are to constitute Professional Standards Councils, to enable the creation of schemes to limit the civil liability of professionals and others, to facilitate the improvement of occupational standards, and to protect consumers.

Section 4.36 of Schedule 4 of the *Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002* provides for the establishment of the ACT Professional Standards Council (ACT Council). The ACT Council consists of eleven people appointed by the Minister who have the experience, skills and qualifications the Minister considers appropriate to enable them to make a contribution to the work of the ACT Council.

All States and Territories have agreed to appoint the same eleven members to their Professional Standards Councils (the Councils). The Councils will comprise one member nominated by each of the States and Territories and the Commonwealth, with the exception of NSW and Victoria, which will nominate two.

The appointments of Ms Esther Alter, Mr Robert Beaton, Ms Joanne Metcalfe, Mr Brian Rayment, Mr Terry Evans, Mr Steven Cole, Mr Ronald Farrell, Ms Madeleine Ogilvie, and Mr Iain Summers on the ACT Council expired on 31 December 2008. The instrument re-appoints Ms Esther Alter, Mr Robert Beaton and Ms Joanne Metcalfe to the ACT Council, commencing on the day after notification of the instrument and ending on 30 June 2011. The instrument re-appoints Mr Brian Rayment, Mr Terry Evans, Mr Steven Cole, Mr Ronald Farrell, Ms Madeleine Ogilvie, and Mr Iain Summers to the ACT Council, commencing on the day after notification of the instrument and ending on 30 December 2011. Mr Brian Rayment is appointed as chairperson and Mr Steven Cole is appointed as deputy chairperson. The instrument appoints Mr Martyn Hagan as deputy of Ms Madeleine Ogilvie, commencing on the day after notification of the instrument and ending on 30 December 2011.

Ms Esther Alter, Mr Robert Beaton, Ms Joanne Metcalfe, Mr Brian Rayment, Mr Terry Evans, Mr Steven Cole, Mr Ronald Farrell, Ms Madeleine Ogilvie,

Mr Martyn Hagan, and Mr Iain Summers are not public servants as defined under the *Legislation Act 2001*.

As required by the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has been consulted on the appointments. The Committee has provided no comment on the reappointments.