## Road Transport (General) (Pay Parking Area Fees) Determination 2009 (No 1)

## Disallowable instrument DI2009-150

made under the

Road Transport (General) Act 1999, section 96 (Determination of fees, charges and other amounts)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

Section 96 of the *Road Transport (General) Act 1999* provides for the Minister to determine fees, charges and other amounts payable under the road transport legislation.

This instrument sets the relevant parking fees for pay parking areas. Under the *Road Transport (Safety and Traffic Management) Regulation 2000* pay parking areas fall into two categories: metered parking areas (which are established by the Road Transport Authority under section 73(1) of the Regulation) and ticket parking areas (which are established by the authority under section 76(1) of the Regulation).

This instrument revokes instrument DI2008-302 Road Transport (General) (Pay Parking Area Fees) Determination 2008 (No 2).

Fees for ticket parking areas located in City, Woden, Tuggeranong, Belconnen, Deakin, Dickson, Manuka and Kingston are set out in Schedule 1 of this instrument and increases parking fees by approximately 20%.

The instrument does not affect parking fees for ticket parking areas operated by private entities.

Schedule 1 of the instrument also identifies ticket parking areas as either short-stay or multi-stay. The fees for pre-paid all-day parking tickets that are usable in multi-stay ticket parking areas are set out in Schedule 2.

Schedule 1 of the instrument also gives effect to rezoning three carparks from Zone B to Zone A. The affected carparks are carpark 21 bounded by Marcus Clarke and Gordon Streets and McCoy and Ellery Cresents in the City, carpark 1 to the north of Launceston Street and west of Phillip Oval and carpark 25 east of Phillip Oval in Phillip.

Fees for metered parking areas in City, Braddon, Reid, Turner, Phillip, Deakin, Dickson, Kingston and Griffith are set out in Schedule 3. These fees are unchanged.