## **Education (Government Schools Education Council) Appointment 2009 (No 7)**

## Disallowable Instrument DI2009 - 191

made under the

Education Act 2004, section 57 Appointed members of Council (government)

## **Explanatory Statement**

The *Education Act 2004* governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Government Schools Education Council.

Section 57 of the Act deals with appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

This instrument appoints Ms Meegan Stuart for three years from the day after notification to the position of community member. A community member is a person who has experience in one or more of the areas of business and commerce, public policy, early childhood care, education, the special needs of young people and teacher education

The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a disallowable instrument for the purpose of division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Education, Training and Youth Affairs was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.