## **Explanatory Statement**

## Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic (Medicines Advisory Committee) Appointment 2010 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2010 - 132

Made under the

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act, section 194 (Medicines advisory committee-establishment)

This Instrument, made under section 194 of the *Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act*, appoints the following persons as members of the Committee:

- Dr Katherine Lubbe,
- Dr Charles Martin Howse, and
- Dr Linda Mary Welberry.

Pursuant to section 635 of the *Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation* 2008 Dr Katherine Lubbe is appointed as Chairperson of the Medicines Advisory Committee.

The Minister has consulted with the Royal Australian College of Psychiatrists, the Australian Medical Association and the Office of Multicultural Affairs on the appointments.

The appointments are for a period of three years commencing on the day after notification.

This instrument is a disallowable instrument under section 229 of the Legislation Act 2001.