Australian Capital Territory

## Emergencies (Bushfire Council Members) Appointment 2010 (No 6)

**Disallowable instrument DI2010–256** 

made under the

Emergencies Act 2004, s 129 (Bushfire council members)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The Bushfire Council, established under section 127 of the *Emergencies Act 2004*, has the function of advising the Minister about matters relating to bushfires.

Under section 129 (1) of the *Emergencies Act 2004* the Minister must appoint the bushfire council members. Under section 129 (2) the Minister must try to ensure that people with particular skills, interests and experience are among the members appointed. The appointment is made according to these requirements.

The instrument appoints Mr Tony Fearnside as a member of the Bushfire Council. The appointment commences on 1 October 2010. The appointment is for a period of one year.

Mr Fearnside is not a public servant as defined under the Legislation Act 2001.

The Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has been consulted on the appointment as required under the provisions of the *Legislation Act 2001*. The Committee advised that it has no objection to the appointment.