Radiation Protection (Council Member and Chair) Appointment 2011 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2011-20

made under the

Radiation Protection Act 2006, s 68 (Council Members)

S 70 (Chair and Deputy Char of Council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Radiation Council was established under the *Radiation Protection Act 2006* (the Act) and is responsible for issuing licences, registering regulated radiation sources, advising the Minister on radiation protection issues and exercising any other function given to it under the Act or another territory law.

Section 68 of the Act enables the Minister to appoint members to the Radiation Council. The Council must include a member of the public, a radiologist, an expert person who has knowledge of the physical properties and or the biological effects of radiation and another person whom the Minister believes has particular qualifications or experience that would assist the Council to undertake its functions. Each Council member is appointed for a period of not more than three years.

Section 70 of the Act provides the Minister with the power to appoint a council member as the chair of the council and another member as the deputy chair.

The Minister has appointed Mr Anthony Agostino as a member of the Radiation Council. This instrument commences on the day after notification until 30 November 2013. Additionally, Mr Agostino is appointed as the Council chairperson.

Mr Agostino has been appointed to the Council because he has expert knowledge of the physical properties and biological effects of radiation.

The appointee is not a public servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001*, section 229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

The Standing Committee on Health, Community and Social Services has been consulted on the appointment in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.