Electoral Commission (Chairperson) 2012 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI 2012-8

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, section 12 (Appointment of members)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 12 of the *Electoral Act 1992* provides for the Executive to appoint a chairperson to the Electoral Commission. This instrument appoints Mr Roger Beale AO as chairperson of the Electoral Commission. The appointment commences on 29 February 2012 and ends on the 28 February 2017.

Section 12(3) of the *Electoral Act 1992* requires that, before a new chairperson is appointed, the Minister must consult the leader of each political party represented in the Legislative Assembly, and all members of the Legislative Assembly who are not also members of such a party about the proposed appointment. The Attorney General undertook this consultation and no objections to the proposed reappointment were received.

The instrument of appointment is a disallowable instrument. Division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001* does not apply to this appointment as the appointment is made by the Executive and not solely the Minister. There is therefore no requirement for consultation with a Standing Committee in relation to the appointment.