Animal Welfare Advisory Committee Appointment 2012 – (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI 2012 — 74

made under the

Animal Welfare Act 1992, s 109 (Establishment and functions)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This instrument is made under the *Animal Welfare Act 1992*, s 109 (Establishment and functions).

Section 109 of the *Animal Welfare Act 1992* requires the Minister to establish an Animal Welfare Advisory Committee.

This instrument appoints four members to the Animal Welfare Advisory Committee. The Instrument appoints Mr Colin Bates, Dr Lynette Gallimore, Ms Sue Gage and Dr Andrew Braid to be members of the Committee for a period of three years.

The ACT Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Planning, Public Works and Territory and Municipal Services was consulted and had no objections to the appointment.

As the proposed members not public servants the appointments are by disallowable instrument.