Health Professionals (Veterinary Surgeons Board) Appointment 2012 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument D2012-209

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The ACT Veterinary Surgeons Board (the Board) administers the Veterinary Surgeons Schedule No. 12 to the Health Professionals Regulation 2004. The *Health Professionals Act 2004* charges the Board with responsibility for the registration of appropriately qualified persons as veterinary surgeons and veterinary specialists, enabling them to practise veterinary surgery in the Australian Capital Territory.

Schedule 12 of the Health Professionals Regulation determines the Veterinary Surgeons Board composition and provides for ministerial appointment of the president, two members and a community representative. Three members are elected by the profession.

A person is not eligible for appointment as a professional member unless the person is a registered veterinary surgeon in the ACT. The person also needs to have been registered for a continuous period of at least three years immediately before the day of the appointment. Dr Steven Roberts satisfies these requirements.

This appointment is to fill a vacancy on the Board as a result of the term of an appointed member, Dr Kathy Gibson, ceasing in December 2011.

Under section 229 of the *Legislation Act 2001* the appointment of a person who is not a public servant is a disallowable instrument, to be notified on the Legislation Register. Dr Roberts is not an ACT public servant.

The ACT Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Health, Community and Social Services has been consulted in relation to the appointment of Dr Roberts.

The other members of the Veterinary Surgeons Board are Dr Kevin Doyle (President), Dr John Aspley Davis (elected member, Deputy Chair), Dr Simon Morris (elected member), Dr Roger Meischke (appointed member), Dr Sarah Webb (elected member) and Ms Eileen Jerga (appointed community representative).