AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

UTILITIES ACT 2000

APPOINTMENT

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

INSTRUMENT NO. 171 OF 2001

The *Utilities Act 2000 Part 11 allows for* the establishment of a Board to facilitate the resolution of complaints, to protect the rights of the customers and consumers, and to ensure services are provided to persons suffering financial hardship.

Section 174 enables the Minister to appoint members to the Board. The Minister has appointed Mr Peter Sutherland as Chair,

Ms Patricia McDonald as Deputy Chair, Mr Bill Pearcy,

Mr Maurice Sexton and Ms Annamaree Reisch as Members of the Essential Services Consumer Council.

These appointments have been approved by Cabinet and the Standing Committee for Finance and Public Administration has been consulted in accordance with Section 4 of the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*.