Civil Law (Wrongs) Professional Standards Council Appointment 2013 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2013-219

made under the

Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002, schedule 4, section 4.38 (Membership of council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

All States and Territories have enacted legislation which enables the establishment of a national Professional Standards Council, which is made up of individual jurisdictional councils. The objects of the legislation are to constitute Professional Standards Councils, to enable the creation of schemes to limit the civil liability of professionals and others, to facilitate the improvement of occupational standards, and to protect consumers.

Section 4.36 of schedule 4 of the *Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002* provides for the establishment of the ACT Professional Standards Council (ACT Council). The ACT Council consists of eleven people appointed by the Minister who have the experience, skills and qualifications the Minister considers appropriate to enable them to make a contribution to the work of the ACT Council.

All States and Territories have agreed to appoint the same eleven members to their Professional Standards Councils. The Professional Standards Councils will comprise one member nominated by each of the States and Territories and the Commonwealth, with the exception of NSW and Victoria, which will nominate two.

The Attorney-General of Western Australia has appointed Ms Rachel Webber to the Professional Standards Council of Western Australia for a term expiring on 31 December 2015 and has nominated Ms Webber for appointment to all Professional Standards Councils for the same term.

The instrument appoints Ms Webber as a member of the ACT Council for a period commencing from the day after notification of the instrument and ending on 31 December 2015. This appointment will ensure that the member nominated by Western Australia is represented on the ACT Council.

Ms Webber is not a public servant as defined under the *Legislation Act 2001*. As required by the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has been consulted on the appointment.