Australian Capital Territory

Explanatory Statement

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods (Medicines Advisory Committee) Appointment 2014 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2014 - 4

Made under the

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008, section 635 (Medicines advisory committee - membership)

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act 2008, section 194 (Establishment of medicines advisory committee)

This instrument, made under section 635 of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation and section 194 of the *Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act 2008*, appoints the following persons as members of the Medicines Advisory Committee:

- Dr Rashmi Sharma;
- Dr Peter Norrie; and
- Dr Alexander Stevenson.

The Medicines Advisory Committee is established by section 194 of the *Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act 2008.* In accordance with section 635 (2) of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008, all members appointed to the Committee are doctors.

Pursuant to section 635 (1) of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008, Dr Rashmi Sharma is appointed as Chair of the Medicines Advisory Committee.

Pursuant to section 635 (3)(a) of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008, Dr Peter Norrie is appointed as a member of the Medicines Advisory Committee as a person with experience in the teaching or practice of psychiatry.

Pursuant to section 635 (3)(b) of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008, Dr Alexander Stevenson is appointed as a member of the Medicines Advisory Committee as nominated by the Australian Capital Territory Branch of the Australian Medical Association. The Minister has consulted with the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists, the Australian Medical Association, the ACT Office for Women and the Office for Multicultural, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs on the appointments. Broad consultation on member appointments help ensure that qualified people with a range of backgrounds are available for consideration.

The appointments are for a period of three years commencing on the day after notification.

This instrument is a disallowable instrument under section 229 of the Legislation Act 2001.