Utilities (Technical Regulation) Listed Dams Determination 2015 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2015-44

made under the

Utilities (Technical Regulation) Act 2014 Section 69 (listing of certain dams)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Utilities (Technical Regulation) Bill 2014 passed the Legislative Assembly on 27 November 2014 and the *Utilities (Technical Regulation) Act 2014* (the Act) commenced on 1 March 2015. Part 8 of the Act introduces a uniform framework for dam safety regulation in the Territory. With the commencement of the Act existing regulated Dams are required to be listed.

Section 69 of the Act requires all dams in the Territory which meet certain criteria to be included in a 'dams register'. Registered dams that present a risk of significant adverse effects on the community, in the event of failure of the dam, will be declared 'listed dams'.

To ensure continuity of regulation for these dams under the Act the following dams are deemed to be 'listed dams'. This disallowable instrument declares the following dams owned and leased by Icon Water as listed dams:

Cotter Dam as completed in 2014. Corin Dam. Bendora Dam. Lower Molonglo Water Quality Control Centre Bypass Storage Dam. Googong Dam.