Australian Capital Territory

Race and Sports Bookmaking (Sports Bookmaking Events) Determination 2015 (No 2)

Disallowable Instrument DI2015—104

Made under the

Race and Sports Bookmaking Act 2001, s20(1) - Determination of sports bookmaking events

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Race and Sports Bookmaking Act 2001* (the Act) regulates the activities of sports bookmakers in the Australian Capital Territory.

Subsection 20(1) of the Act provides that the Commission may determine a sporting or other event to be a sports bookmaking event for the purpose of the Act.

This determination revokes DI2015-37 dated 3 March 2015 and notified under the Legislation Register on 5 March 2015.

Schedule 2 of this determination details the various national and international greyhound, harness and thoroughbred racing events that a licensee may offer.

Amendments to Schedule 2 of this Instrument include the removal of the wording that restricts international thoroughbred, harness and greyhound racing events to only races that have "group, listed or equivalent status". In addition, thoroughbred racing events are no longer required to be scheduled and sanctioned by the International Cataloguing Standards Committee.

The approved international thoroughbred racing jurisdictions are now listed individually rather than the specific thoroughbred racing controlling bodies, similar to the approach currently taken towards harness and greyhound racing in Schedule 2.

Amendments to Schedule 2 also include the addition of thoroughbred races scheduled and sanctioned by the relevant thoroughbred racing controlling bodies of Mexico, Argentina, Peru, Macau, Chile, India and the Netherlands.

These changes allow sports bookmaking licensees greater flexibility in the events they can offer their customers whilst ensuring that these events are

still subject to appropriate regulatory oversight from jurisdictional controlling authorities.

There are no changes made to Schedule 1 of the Instrument.

Schedule 2

Schedule 2 details the various national and international greyhound, harness and thoroughbred racing events that a licensee may offer.

The amendments to Schedule 2 are as follows:

Event No.1. Greyhound Racing.

Clause 2. Greyhound races conducted in New Zealand, South Africa, the United Kingdom and USA are no longer restricted to group, listed, or equivalent status as determined, scheduled and sanctioned by the relevant greyhound racing controlling body of each jurisdiction.

Event No.2. Harness Racing.

Clause 2. Harness races conducted in Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Sweden, the United Kingdom and USA are no longer restricted to group, listed, or equivalent status as determined, scheduled and sanctioned by the relevant harness racing controlling body of each jurisdiction.

Event No.3. Thoroughbred Racing.

Clause 2. Thoroughbred races conducted within approved jurisdictions are no longer required to have group, listed or equivalent status as determined by the International Cataloguing Standards Committee. These races must still be scheduled and sanctioned by the relevant thoroughbred racing controlling body of each jurisdiction.

Amendments to clause 2 include the removal of the following specific racing controlling bodies:

- (i) the Hong Kong Jockey Club;
- (ii) New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing Inc;
- (iii) the British Horseracing Board;
- (iv) the Japan Racing Association;
- (v) France Galop;
- (vi) Horse Racing Ireland;
- (vii) the Jockey Club of Southern Africa;
- (viii) The Jockey Club of Canada;
- (ix) the Direktorium Für Vollblutzucht und Rennen (Germany);
- (x) L'Unione Nazionale per l'Incremento delle Razza Equine (U.N.I.R.E) (Italy);
- (xi) Svensk Galopp (Sweden); and
- (xii) Korea Racing Authority (South Korea).

Clause 2 now lists the jurisdictions where fixed odds markets may be offered on thoroughbred racing. Amendments allow fixed odds markets to be offered on each Argentinean, Canadian, Chilean, Dubai, French, German, Hong Kong, Indian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Macau, Malaysian, Mexican, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peruvian, Singaporean, South African, South Korean, Swedish, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, and USA thoroughbred race as scheduled and sanctioned by the relevant thoroughbred racing controlling body of each jurisdiction.

As a result of removing the listing of specific controlling bodies for each international jurisdiction, clause 3, 4, 5 and 6 are no longer required and have been removed.