Crimes (Sentence Administration) (Sentence Administration Board) Appointment 2017 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2017-4

made under the

Crimes (Sentence Administration) Act 2005, s174(1)(c) (Appointment of board members)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Crimes* (*Sentence Administration*) *Act 2005* (the Act), amongst other things, governs the constitution and functions of the Sentence Administration Board of the ACT (the board). The board's functions are detailed under section 172 of the Act, and sections 171 and 173-4 provide for the establishment and membership of the board. Under section 174 of the Act, the Minister is required to appoint a chairperson; at least one deputy chairperson (and not more than two deputy chairpersons) and not more than eight other members to the Board.

This instrument appoints Mr Derek Jory as a non-judicial member of the Sentence Administration Board for the period commencing on 25 January 2017 and ending on 13 May 2017.

Mr Jory has worked for 35 years in various aspects of the criminal justice system. He was a probation and parole officer in New Zealand and Queensland, civilian lecturer in the Queensland and NSW Police Academies and worked in policy positions in the ACT Department of Justice and Community Safety. Mr Jory is not a public servant.