Australian Capital Territory

Crimes (Sentence Administration) (Sentence Administration Board) Appointment 2017 (No 3)

Disallowable instrument DI2017-6

made under the

Crimes (Sentence Administration) Act 2005, s174(1)(c) (Appointment of board members)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Crimes (Sentence Administration)* Act 2005 (the Act), amongst other things, governs the constitution and functions of the Sentence Administration Board of the ACT (the Board). The Board's functions are detailed under section 172 of the Act, and sections 171, 173 and 174 provide for the establishment and membership of the Board. Under section 174 of the Act, the Minister is required to appoint a chairperson; at least one deputy chairperson (and not more than two deputy chairpersons) and not more than eight other members to the Board.

A non judicial member of the Board is appointed on a part-time basis and paid a per diem rate according to determination of the ACT Remuneration Tribunal.

This instrument appoints Ms Deborah Evans as a non judicial member of the Board. Ms Evans' valuable experience in the human services and justice sectors, with a particular focus on working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, is expected to assist the Board in its functions.

Ms Evans is not a public servant.