Australian Capital Territory

## Electoral Commission (Chairperson) Appointment 2017 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI 2017-57

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, section 12 (Appointment)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

Section 12 of the *Electoral Act 1992* provides for the Speaker to appoint a chairperson to the Electoral Commission. This instrument appoints Ms Dawn Casey as chairperson of the Electoral Commission. The appointment is taken to have commenced on 20 April 2017 and ends on 19 April 2022 and is non-prejudicial.

Section 12(2) of the Electoral Act 1992 requires that, before a new chairperson is appointed, the Speaker consult with the Chief Minister and the Leader of the Opposition and with the leader of any other registered party if at least 2 members of the Legislative Assembly are members of the party. The Speaker undertook this consultation and no objections to the proposed reappointment were received.

Section 12(3) of the Electoral Act requires that the Speaker must not appoint a person as a member of the Electoral Commission unless satisfied that the person has extensive knowledge of, and experience in electoral systems or management or public administration or another area that is relevant to and consistent with the functions of a member of the Electoral Commission. The Speaker is satisfied that the appointment is consistent with this requirement.

The appointment is made on the advice of the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety.

The instrument of appointment is a disallowable instrument.