Electoral (Electoral Commission Member) Appointment 2017 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2017–100

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, section 12 (Appointment)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 12 of the *Electoral Act 1992* provides for the Speaker to appoint a member to the Electoral Commission. This instrument appoints Mr Philip Moss AM to the member position of the Electoral Commission. The appointment commences on 7 June 2017 and expires on 6 June 2022.

Section 12(2) of the Electoral Act requires that, before a new member is appointed, the Speaker consult with the Chief Minister and the Leader of the Opposition and with the leader of any other registered party if at least 2 members of the Legislative Assembly are members of the party. The Speaker undertook this consultation and no objections to the proposed appointment were received.

Section 12(3) of the Electoral Act requires that the Speaker must not appoint a person as a member of the Electoral Commission unless satisfied that the person has extensive knowledge of, and experience in electoral systems or management or public administration or another area that is relevant to and consistent with the functions of a member of the Electoral Commission. The Speaker is satisfied that the appointment is consistent with this requirement.

The appointment is made on the advice of the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety.

The instrument of appointment is a disallowable instrument.