## **Territory Records (Advisory Council) Appointment 2017 (No 6)**

Disallowable instrument DI2017-242

made under the

Territory Records Act 2002, s45 (Chairperson and deputy chairperson)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The *Territory Records Act 2002* provides for the establishment and functions of Territory Records Advisory Council.

Section 44 of the *Territory Records Act 2002* outlines the appointment requirements to the Council, section 45 pertains to the appointment of the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Council and section 46 outlines the terms of appointment of appointed members.

Mr Michael Piggott AM has worked in the records and information industry for more than 40 years having career experience across all archival functions. Mr Piggott has worked and held various leadership positions at the National Library of Australia, Australian War Memorial, National Archives of Australia and University of Melbourne. Mr Piggott is current an Adjunct Lecturer at Charles Sturt University, Treasurer at Honest History, President at Friends of the Noel Butlin Archives Centre and has been serving as the Deputy Chair of the Territory Records Advisory Council since 2014. Mr Piggott was recently made a Member of the General Division of the Order of Australia for significant service to the community as an archivist with national and international educational and cultural institutions, and as an author.

Mr Piggott has been appointed for a second term to represent professional organisations interested in records management and archives. He is appointed for a three year term.

Mr Piggott is also appointed as Chairperson for the term of his appointment as a member of the Council. The Chairperson of the Council must be an appointed member.