ACT Teacher Quality Institute Board Appointment 2018 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2018-85

made under the

ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010, section 14 and Financial Management Act 1996 section 78.

Explanatory Statement

The ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010 (the Act) governs the establishment, functions and membership of the ACT Teacher Quality Institute.

Section 15 of the Act deals with the appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

The vacancy has arisen with the resignation of Associate Professor Wayne Hawkins as the member on the Board nominated under section 15(2)(h) of the Act by the University of Canberra.

This instrument appoints Professor Ting Wang, Associate Dean, (Education), University of Canberra to fill the vacancy on the Board for a period of three years. Professor Ting Wang has been nominated by the University of Canberra under section 15(2)(h) of the Act.

Professor Wang has occupied a range of leadership roles in the Faculty, with years of significant experience in leading transnational education programs and postgraduate courses in education and educational leadership. Her sustained contributions to student learning, educational innovation and research excellence are evidence of her qualifications and expertise relevant to the functions of the institute Board.

The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a Disallowable Instrument for the purpose of Division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Legislative Standing Committee on Education, Employment and Youth Affairs was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.