## Water Resources (Water Management Areas) Determination 2019

Disallowable instrument DI2019-38

made under the

Water Resources Act 2007, s 16 (Water management areas)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

Section 16 of the *Water Resources Act 2007* provides that the Minister must determine areas for managing the water resources of the Territory. This instrument determines the ACT's water and sub-water management areas.

The boundaries of water and sub-water management areas are based on watersheds. Where these do not line up with the ACT border, the water and sub-water management areas are shown to extend into New South Wales.

The areas in New South Wales, shown as hatched in schedule 2, are managed by New South Wales, which has the rights and responsibilities for the water resources of those areas, apart from the Queanbeyan and Molonglo Rivers and their tributaries, for which the ACT has paramount rights to the use and control of waters, under the *Seat of Government Acceptance Act 1909* (Cwlth).

However, the ACT currently only exercises those rights for the water from the Googong Dam Area, located in the Googong catchment within New South Wales. The ACT has responsibility for managing the Googong Dam Area under the *Canberra Water Supply (Googong Dam) Act 1974* (Cwlth).

The instrument revokes the *Water Resources (Water management areas) Determination 2007 (No 1)* (DI2007-193).