Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Advisory Council Appointment 2019 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2019—102

made under the

Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Act 2004, section 11 (Advisory Council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The ACT Gene Technology Advisory Council (the Council) is established under section 11 of the *Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Act 2004* (the Act). Under subsection 11 (2) of the Act, the Council consists of eight (8) members, appointed by the Minister for Health.

Under subsection 11 (3) of the Act, the Minister must try to ensure that a person nominated by the Canberra Region Branch Biotechnology Group of AusBiotech is appointed as a member.

The purpose of the Act is to designate the ACT as an area in which certain genetically modified (GM) food plants may not be cultivated, in order to preserve the identity of GM and/or non-GM crops for marketing purposes.

Dr Anne-Sophie Dielen is nominated as Member of the Council by the Canberra Region Branch Biotechnology Group of AusBiotech as a person with appropriate skills and expertise to occupy this role. Dr Dielen is Director of Crop Biotechnology Policy, CropLife Australia and currently leads activities relevant to the crop biotechnology sector. Dr Dielen has held past positions with the Office of the Gene Technology Regulator and as post-doctoral fellow, Australian National University and Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation.

Dr Dielen is being appointed to this position to replace the previous nominated member of the Canberra Region Branch Biotechnology Group of AusBiotech, Mr Osman Mewett who has resigned from this position.

This instrument revokes DI2017-302.