Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee Member) Appointment 2019 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2019-286

made under the

Animal Welfare Act 1992, s 109 (Establishment and Functions) read with *Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee) Establishment 2015*, ss 4, 5

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Part 9 of the *Animal Welfare Act 1992* (the Act) establishes the Animal Welfare Advisory Committee and sets out its functions. Section 109 of the Act provides the functions of the Committee. This instrument is made in conjunction with NI2015-219 the Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee) Establishment 2015.

NI2015-219 provides that the Committee consists of 11 members appointed by the Minister and provides the make up of the Committee.

Under Section 4 (2) of the Committee Establishment instrument provides that members can be appointed to the Committee for a term of no longer than three years.

This instrument appoints the following members for a period of three years:

- (a) Ms Genevieve Butler appointed as Chair;
- (b) Mr John Guth as a person nominated by the Rural Lessees Association (Category E);
- (c) Ms Emma Davies as a person nominated by a community-based organisation involved in animal welfare other than the RSPCA (Category G);
- (d) Ms Judith Woolley as a person engaged in the commercial use of companion animals (Category I); and
- (e) Mr Wayne Slattery as a person with experience in the recreational and sporting use of animals (Category J).

Section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001* provides that before making an appointment to a statutory position, a Minister must consult with the relevant standing committee of the Legislative Assembly. The Minister consulted with the Standing Committee on Environment and Transport and City Services.