AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

HEALTH PROFESSIONS BOARDS (PROCEDURES) ACT 1981

NURSES ACT 1988

INSTRUMENT NO. 251 OF 1999

Appointment of Chairperson and Member to the Nurses Board of the Australian Capital Territory

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Nurses Act 1988* (the Act) provides for the registration and enrolment of nurses, the supervision of nursing education and standards, and for related purposes.

Section 6 of the Act establishes the Board. Section 7 of the Act provides for the constitution of the Board. Paragraph 7(1)(a) of the *Nurses Act 1988* (the Act) requires that the chairperson and 4 other members of whom not more than 2 may be enrolled nurses, be appointed in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards* (*Procedures*) Act 1981.

Appointments of Chairperson and four Members to the Board were made by the Minister on 28 June 1999. The term of office was for a period of three years commencing 28 June 1999 to and including 27 June 2002. A vacancy occurred on the Board as a result of the resignation of the chairperson on 16 August 1999.Letters were sent to five persons who originally lodged expressions of interest for appointment earlier this year but who were not successful. This was to determine their continued interest in serving on the Board.

Ms Margaret Proctor is currently an appointed member on the Board. She has been appointed to the position of chairperson. Her current professional position is that of Senior Lecturer in Nursing at the University of Canberra. She is serving her second term on the Board and has been a tireless worker in her capacity as Complaints Officer of the Board who has been instrumental in bringing a number of matters to disciplinary inquiry before the Board.

Ms Rebecca Vanderheide has been appointed to the position as member to backfill Ms Proctors position. Ms Vanderheide is a nurse educator at the Capital Private Hospital and will represent the private sector on the Board.

These appointments to the Board are for the period commencing 26 October 1999 to and including 27 June 2002.

After consideration by Cabinet the appointment was referred to the Committee on Health and Community Care in accordance with the *Statutory Appointments Act* 1994.

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au