Australian Capital Territory

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods (Medicines Advisory Committee) Appointment 2021 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2021–35

made under the

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008, section 635 (Medicines advisory committee - membership)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Medicines Advisory Committee is established by section 194 of the *Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act 2008.*

Section 635 (1) of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008 (MTPG Regulation) provides that the Medicines Advisory Committee must consist of a Chair and 6 other members. Section 635 (3) stipulates that, of the required 7 members, the committee must include members with specific qualifications or roles. Without these members, the committee is not formed and cannot operate. This instrument, made under section 635 of the MPTG Regulation, appoints one person to the Medicines Advisory Committee to fulfill the membership requirements set out in the MPTG Regulation.

This instrument, made under section 635 of the MPTG Regulation, appoints one new member to the Medicines Advisory Committee.

Pursuant to section 635 (3)(e) of the MPTG Regulation, Mr Mat Franklin is appointed as a member of the Medicines Advisory Committee who represents consumers. This is Mr Franklin's first appointment to the committee.

This appointment commences on 3 May 2021 and expires on 21 February 2024. This expiration aligns with end date of Mr Franklin's appointment with the end date of other appointments to the Medicines Advisory Committee made early 2021.

This position is remunerated for eligible appointees in accordance with the applicable Remuneration Tribunal Determination.

The person appointed to the Medicines Advisory Committee by this instrument is not a public servant.