Australian Capital Territory

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods (Medicines Advisory Committee) Appointment 2021 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2021–34

made under the

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008, section 635 (Medicines advisory committee - membership)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Medicines Advisory Committee is established by section 194 of the *Medicines*, *Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act 2008*. In accordance with section 635(2) of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008 (MPTG Regulation), all members appointed to the Committee (other than a person mentioned in subsections 635(3)(d) or (e)) are doctors and hold current registration as medical practitioners with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency.

Section 635 (1) of the MPTG Regulation provides that the Medicines Advisory Committee must consist of a Chair and 6 other members. Section 635 (3) stipulates that, of the required 7 members, the committee must include members with specific qualifications or roles. Without these members, the committee is not formed and cannot operate. This instrument, made under section 635 of the MPTG Regulation, appoints 6 people to the Medicines Advisory Committee to fulfill the membership requirements set out in the MPTG Regulation.

Pursuant to section 635 (1)(a) of the MPTG Regulation, Dr Marianne Bookallil is appointed as Chair of the Medicines Advisory Committee for a period of 3 years. Dr Bookallil was previously appointed as a member of the committee who is a general Practitioner under section 635 (s)(c). This will be Dr Bookallil's first term as Chair.

Pursuant to section 635 (3)(a) of the MPTG Regulation, Dr Matthew Sellen is appointed as a member of the Medicines Advisory Committee who has had experience in the teaching or practice of psychiatry. Dr Sellen is a registered medical practitioner with a speciality psychiatry with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency. Pursuant to section 635 (3)(c) of the MPTG Regulation, Dr Vishal Arya is appointed as a member of the Medicines Advisory Committee as a general practitioner. Dr Arya is a registered General Practitioner with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency.

Pursuant to section 635 (3)(d) of the MPTG Regulation, Mrs Elise Apolloni is appointed as a member of the Medicines Advisory Committee as a pharmacist. Mrs Apolloni is a registered Pharmacist with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency.

Pursuant to section 635 (3)(f) of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008, Dr Antonio Di Dio is appointed as a member of the Medicines Advisory Committee as the nominee of the ACT Branch of the Australian Medical Association (AMA). This is Dr Di Dio's second term as the nominee of the AMA.

The persons appointed to the Medicines Advisory Committee by this instrument are not public servants.