Nature Conservation (Scientific Committee) Appointment 2021 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2021-256

made under the

Nature Conservation Act 2014, s 36 (Scientific committee—appointment of members)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 31 of the *Nature Conservation Act 2014* (the Act) establishes the Scientific Committee. The Scientific Committee has the following functions:

- to advise the Minister about nature conservation (section 32 (a) of the Act)
- to advise the Conservator of Flora and Fauna about nature conservation (section 32 (b))
- to exercise any other function given to the committee under the Act or another territory law (section 32 (c)).

This appointment instrument is made under section 36 of the Act. Sections 36 (1) and (2) provide that the Minister must appoint seven members to the Scientific Committee and must ensure that at least four members of the committee are not public servants. The Minister must not appoint a person to the committee unless satisfied that the person has appropriate scientific expertise in biology, ecology, conservation science, or conservation management.

The following members were appointed to the committee in a previous instrument (DI-21-208) effective 17 August 2021, which is repealed by this instrument:

- Distinguished Professor Arthur Georges (conservation biology of native Australian species and the ecology, evolution and systematics of Australian reptiles and amphibians)
- Associate Professor Mark Lintermans (ecology and management of aquatic systems, fish, crayfish, waterbirds and wetlands)
- Honorary Professor Mark Lonsdale (ecology, biology and biodiversity with application of ecological research to conservation issues, invasive species)
- Dr Janet Gardner (ornithology and field ecology with related applied climate research)
- Dr Frank Ingwersen (botany and plant ecology including landscape scale ecology and fire ecology relating to biodiversity conservation)
- Dr Linda Neaves (genetics/biology in conservation management/policy and reintroduction/translocation of native species).

In addition to these appointments, this instrument appoints Ms Penney Wood as the seventh member of the committee with scientific expertise in biology, wildlife management and ecosystem conservation.

No public servants are being appointed.

A subsequent instrument will appoint the chair and deputy chair of the Scientific Committee, when the first meeting of the Committee is held to vote on these positions.

The appointment of members of the Scientific Committee, including the chair and the deputy chair is until 30 June 2024. Section 36 (5) of the Act requires these appointments to be for a period that is not longer than 3 years.

Section 228 of the Legislation Act requires the relevant standing committee of the Legislative Assembly to be consulted as part of the process for appointments by the Minister (with some exceptions; in particular, not relating to the appointment of public servants). The Standing Committee on Environment, Climate Change and Biodiversity has been consulted on the appointments in this instrument.

Section 36 (7) of the Act provides that this appointment instrument is disallowable.

A regulatory impact statement (RIS) is ordinarily required for disallowable instruments under section 34 of the Legislation Act. A RIS is not required in this instance as the appointment of members of the Scientific Committee is an administrative matter which is not likely to impose appreciable costs on the community, and therefore the preparation of a RIS is not required under section 36 of the Legislation Act.

This appointment instrument does not engage any human rights.