Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee Member) Appointment 2022 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2022-57

made under the

Animal Welfare Act 1992, s 109 (Establishment and Functions) read with Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee) Establishment 2020 (No 1), ss 4, 5

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Part 9 of the *Animal Welfare Act 1992* (the Act) establishes the Animal Welfare Advisory Committee and sets out its functions. Section 109 of the Act provides the functions of the Committee. This instrument is made in conjunction with DI2020-147 the *Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee) Establishment 2020 (No 1)*.

DI2020-147 provides that the Committee consists of 11 members appointed by the Minister and provides the make-up of the Committee.

Under Section 4 (2) of the Committee Establishment instrument provides that members can be appointed to the Committee for a term of not longer than three years.

This instrument appoints the following members for a period of three years. Please note, (b) Mr Bruce Hancocks is an ACT Government public servant, whereas the other member is a non-public servant:

- (a) Ms Michelle Robertson as a person nominated by the RSPCA ACT (Category 3); and
- (b) Mr Bruce Hancocks as a person nominated by the administrative unit with responsibility for the *Nature Conservation Act 2014* (Category 11).

Section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001* provides that before making an appointment to a statutory position, a Minister must consult with the relevant standing committee of the Legislative Assembly. The Minister consulted with the Standing Committee on Planning, Transport and City Services who agreed to note the appointments with no further recommendations.