Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee Member) Appointment 2022 (No 3)

Disallowable instrument DI2022-245

made under the

Animal Welfare Act 1992, s 109 (Establishment and Functions) read with *Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee) Establishment 2020 (No 1)*, ss 4, 5

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Part 9 of the *Animal Welfare Act 1992* (the Act) establishes the Animal Welfare Advisory Committee and sets out its functions. Section 109 of the Act provides the functions of the Committee. This instrument is made in conjunction with DI2020-147 the *Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee) Establishment 2020 (No 1)*.

DI2020-147 provides that the Committee consists of 11 members appointed by the Minister and provides the make-up of the Committee.

Under Section 4 (2) of the Committee Establishment instrument provides that members can be appointed to the Committee for a term of not longer than three years.

This instrument appoints the following members for a period of three years:

- a) Ms Genevieve Butler appointed as Chair (Category 1) (re-appointment);
- b) Mr John Starr as a person nominated by the Rural Lessees Association (Category 5) (appointment);
- c) Ms Judith Woolley as a person engaged in the commercial use of companion animals (Category 9) (re-appointment); and
- d) Mr Wayne Slattery as a person with experience in the recreational and sporting use of animals (Category 10) (re-appointment).

The appointed/re-appointed members are not public servants. Division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001* applies to these appointments. Prior to making these appointments, in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Minister consulted the Legislative Assembly's Standing Committee on Planning, Transport and City Services who did not object to these appointments.